Pictured: Sean Byrne (Bank of Ireland), Susan Gaynor (Town Team), Cllr Paschal Fitzmaurice (Town Team), Joann Hosey (Bank of Ireland), Cllr Michael Creaton (Town Team), Benny O’Connell (Enterprise Castlerea), Cllr Nigel Dineen (Town Team)

Castlerea town received a Special Merit Award and a prize fund of €2000 last night at the Bank of Ireland National Enterprising Town competition last night.

The awards ceremony which was held in the Abbey Hotel was attended by community activists from 4 counties around Ireland (Roscommon, Mayo, Loais & Kildare) as well as officials from the Bank of Ireland, members of the local authority and special guest on the night was Minister for Communications Denis Naughten.

Susan Gaynor collected the prize on the night and she paid tribute to her fellow Town Team members, the Enterprise committee, Town Trust, Castlerea Livestock Mart staff, staff of St. Michael’s School, Sean Byrne & the staff of Bank of Ireland, Castlerea and the various groups, business people and all those who made the judging day such a success.

“I want to say a special word of thanks to Colm Kelly, Caitlin Conneely, Martin Lydon and all the staff in Roscommon County Council for their continuous help and assistance. There has been alot of hard work put into the town over the past two years and we are delighted to see it paying off. This is only the start of things to come, there are alot of exciting projects planned for 2017” she concluded.

Town Team Members: Chairperson Gareth Scahill, Secretary Susan Gaynor, Treasurer Shona O’Connell, PRO Caolinn Bruen, Breege Callaghan, Cllr Michael Creaton, Cllr Paschal Fitzmaurice, Cllr Nigel Dineen, Maria Harris, Edmund Hester, Emma Coates, Ivan Moran, Catherine Keane, Tom Cunnane,

There are no comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (*).